Running Wild: a solo/bear-filming/creek-fording/Smokies Adventure!!

“Adventure is the result of incompetence,” wrote the famous, early 1900’s Artic explorer Vihjalmur Stefansson. I think he was poking fun at his greenhorn contemporaries and their blunders.

– write Jenny and Ray Jardine in their recently published, free online photo book titled: Pearl Four, Hiking the Appalachian Trail #1, 89 days, 2,100 miles, Jun-Aug 1993

Unfortunately the above link/free photo book wasn’t made “mobile first” and has an index of “hidden from view on mobile” hyperlinks/chapters. However the content is so good that it’s WELL WORTH firing it up on a laptop/desktop.

At least on my own mobile device, I can get access the index of links (photos from every state on the AT) when I tilt my phone on its side into horizontal/video mode.


How could things go wrong with so much sass?! Great Smoky Mountain National Park (GSMNP); September 2020.
A beautiful view from Fontana Dam to start the 30 mile overnight hike, GSMNP, Sept 2020.

Entering the belly of the beast, GSMNP, Sept 2020.

There are no blazes on trees in the Smokies (except for the AT) which helped me get terribly lost during my 4th (of 15) knee deep creek crossing right after confidentially telling the 3 backpackers camped there that I was “a very experienced night hiker”! One fine gentleman saw my headlamp go astray and actually went looking for me, though I made it back to his camp before him (able to see the lights of his hiking partners still at camp). The 4 of us decided I was going to “violate my permit” and camp the night well socially distanced from them!! Thank you kind, gentlemen! My Gear Review (click here) is dedicated to the gentleman in the group from Orlando FL on his first backpacking trip ever (coincidentally on the hardest trail I’ve now hiked twice). GSMNP, Sept 2020 where I was reminded about the kind and unexpected acts the best humans are capable of!!

Black-eyed Susan, GSMNP Sept 2020.

Walk softly and carry a big stick, GSMNP Sept 2020. Click here for this hike’s Gear Review.

Mask it Up on busy trails on weekends like the AT! GSMNP, Sept 2020. Also carry a dang trowel and dig your holes deep enough!!

Early in the morning I stumbled on a mama and 2 baby cubs and an EXPLOSION of movement of sound ensued: mama hiding behind a tree. Cubs shooting up tree trunks. And me running backward.

In the video you can hear how loud the creek is, which allowed me to get so close without them hearing (and I didn’t see or hear them).

No longer wanting to be the “boy who cried bear” solo hiking without proof, I realized I could still see one of the cubs in the tree.

The below video shows a small black cub descend a tree slightly to the left of the white trunk tree in the middle of the frame.

The cub then scurries on the ground to the right and acsends a tree trunk slightly to the right of that same white trunk tree (center frame).

The trembling/shaking screen at the end of the video probably shows my truest emotion.


Happy Trails, y’all!

Leave a comment